THE LAST BUS TO MY HOME

This story is a response to the Challenge posted on Friday Fictioneers, which is a weekly blog link-up led by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields at Addicted to Purple. A story with a beginning, middle and end in just 100 words or below, making every word count. Here goes my attempt, hope you guys like it.

The Last Bus to ‘My Home’

Leaving home was tough…going back is tougher.

They say they hung my family on the entrance…to the city I called home.

I have to go…to bring them down…and re-build a home.

My friends here say that am mad…there is no home left there…that I might die too, that place is a hell.

But I know…home is home…it can never be hell. My country is my home.

Terror cant make my home hell…with that thought I board the bus…the last bus to Hawija.

ISIS-hanging-HawijaISIS-hanging-Hawija (1)


Find the news and image here.

2 comments on “THE LAST BUS TO MY HOME

    • Thanks for reading Rochelle. The incident is real and horrifying…the tale is a fiction though. Hawija is a state in Iraq and is under ISIS control right now. These bodies were hung on the gates of Hawija.

      Like

Leave a comment