Mind sharing?

This story is a response to the Challenge posted on Friday Fictioneers, which is a weekly blog link-up led by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields at Addicted to Purple. A story inspired by the photo prompt, a beginning, middle and end in just 100 words or below, making every word count. Here goes my attempt, hope you guys like it.

Mind sharing?

“Do you remember this road? The taxi stand?” Akaash asked adjusting his specs.

“Hmmmm…” Veda has been more silent these days. She knew these were her ‘last few days’ and this knowledge was eating away all their days.

Akaash has been trying to get her to talk, at least share happier moments. Why should she withdraw herself from him, when it has all been lived together until now?

“It was raining and you needed a cab and I needed one too… I asked you the same thing, I still am” he paused, she was listening.

” Mind sharing…? Please…!”

 

vw-in-israel-wmq
The prompt image

Find the featured image here.

19 comments on “Mind sharing?

      • I guess I did… but now that I reread it I guess I hadn’t really got it yet…
        It’s like decades ago it was about sharing a taxi the day they first met.
        Now I was firstly being also a little creative by assuming that the woman was so demented that she didn’t know a thing at all. Thus, the man would ask her if she wanted to have him share his still valid mind with her… (slightly futuristic in a way) but now I finally understood that the last line was naturally the woman’s words, being her still capable of asking the husband if he didn’t mind sharing the memory.
        At the same time, it now looks as if the woman is just messing with him cause she still remembers everything and is just being like funny/ironic.
        Should be somewhat illegal to go to such depths with words. You scare me sometimes! You and your doped insight…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I’m not trying anymore… I trust am just not made for understanding the real meaning behind these intertwined proses. It’s not like I don’t attain my own conclusions out of them; I do, they just might be slightly off of that which the writer’s conveying.
        What amazes me though is that other readers seem to get the actual gist, of not only your texts but also texts from other members of the ff club (because I just gave Elias’s car a try, as you hinted in a comment below, and as soothing as the words sounded, it turned out to be just as undecipherable to me), or at least they are better at pretending they do…
        Guess I should start reading more books, that might do it 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Reading is cute. But I haven’t heard the calling yet. I’ve tried but I’m just too much of a rudimentary man to endure the strain of so many words skipping across one’s eyes. On repeat.
        Better stay simple and stay sane, isn’t it!? Or else I’d find myself regurgitating poetic exitless labyrinths shaped as musings and I’d get scared of not only you but also myself. Eerie that’d be!
        But I’ve been reading you over time. You’ve got that flair. Keep at it, I’ll keep too…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

