The Flight

The Flight

This story is a response to the Challenge posted on Friday Fictioneers, which is a weekly blog link-up led by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields at Addicted to Purple. A story inspired by the photo prompt, a beginning, middle and end in just 100 words or below, making every word count. A very happy new year to all my readers, here goes my attempt, hope you guys like it.

422px-Helen_Richey_1929
Helen Richey

It was a dream, I saw as a kid…dint know what dreams meaant.

A dream no girl saw…they all made fun of me.

“Its a man’s job…” they said.

I met Sally today…she’s on my plane, with three kids and a husband.

“You lived your dream…” she said.

“Its not a man’s job darling….” I hugged her.

“I guess its not anymore….”she smiled.

“Its just the flight dear…the flight of life…you took yours I took mine…mine doesn’t leave any contrails, it’d leave a mark.”

melanie-greenwood
Prompt image

Find the image here.
Find more about the first female commercial pilot Helen Richey.

2 comments on “The Flight

Leave a Reply

